LCD'07 : Workshop on Logics and Collective Decision making

Erasmus International Institute MSH Nord-Pas-de-Calais
March 13-14, 2007

CALL FOR PAPERS Abstracts of all talks


We would like to welcome you to a workshop on the connections between logics and collective decision making theories that is to take place in Lille on March 13-14, 2007.

Group decision-making problems occur every time a collective choice has to be made from several individuals that have conflicting interests or preferences. There has been recently a growing interest on the use of logic as the basic tool for formalizing and computing those problems. This is in particular true in two close fields of research. The first one lies at the intersection of game theory and logics, especially by exploring how modal logics may be used to model and reason about games. A second one, which focuses on the logical insights into rational collective choice, has recently emerged around problems of judgment aggregation and beliefs/goals merging, on the one hand, and logical formalization of welfare distribution processes (social software), on the other. These two domains propose further formal refinements, using logical tools, of the classical theories of collective decision-making, by offering new evaluation criteria of and new ways of building social choice procedures. The workshop aims at sparking off interaction between social choice theorists, computer scientists, logicians and philosophers.

The workshop will take place at the University of Lille 3, Villeneuve d'Ascq, France.

Invited Speakers

Ken Binmore (DE, University College London)
Franz Dietrich (University of Maastricht and LSE)
Wiebe van der Hoek (DCS, University of Liverpool)
Gabriella Pigozzi (CSC, University of Luxembourg)


The aim of this workshop is to promote interaction between researchers in the areas of logics and collective decision-making theories.

We invite submissions of abstracts in the interface of the above or related areas that investigate common problems. A non-exhaustive list of topics of interest include

  • logics of collective decision-making and social software
  • belief merging and judgment aggregation
  • social-choice theoretical approaches to logics and to the philosophy of logics
  • logics and deliberative democracy
  • preference representation and social choice

Submission details

Authors should send an abstract (in pdf, postscript or word format) to by January, 31st. Submissions should typically be 3 pages long (excluding bibliographical references). There will be no published proceedings, so there is no copyright problem for presenting works already published. The mail should contain the authors' name, affiliation(s) and current position(s). We strongly encourage PhD students to submit, as we might organize a student session. Notification of acceptance will be given by February, 9th.

Important Dates

Submission of Abstracts         January 31, 2007
Notification of Acceptance     February 9, 2007
LCD'07 Workshop                March 13-14, 2007

Program Committee

Thomas Ågotnes (Bergen University College)
Salem Benferhat (CRIL, University of Artois)
Johan van Benthem (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Cristina Bicchieri (University of Pennsylvania)
Giacomo Bonanno (University of California)
Laurence Broze (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Patrice Canivez (STL, University of Lille)
Samir Chopra (Brooklyn College of the City University of New York)
Franz Dietrich (University of Maastricht and LSE)
Ulle Endriss (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Marc Fleurbaey (CERSES, University of Paris 5)
Thibault Gajdos (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne, University of Paris 1)
Andreas Herzig (IRIT, University of Toulouse)
Wiebe van der Hoek (University of Liverpool)
Hubert Jayet (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Frédéric Jouneau (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Sébastien Konieczny (CRIL, University of Artois) (co-chair)
Barteld Kooi (University of Groningen)
Jérôme Lang (IRIT, University of Toulouse)
Christian List (LSE)
Pierre Marquis (CRIL, University of Artois)
Nicolas Maudet (University of Paris 9)
Eric Pacuit (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Rohit Parikh (Brooklyn College of the City University of New York)
Marc Pauly (Stanford University)
Philip Pettit (Princeton University)
Gabriella Pigozzi (University of Luxembourg)
Shahid Rahman (STL, University of Lille) (co-chair)
Maurice Salles (CREM, University of Caen)
Jean-Christophe Vergnaud (EUREQua, University of Paris 1)
John Weymark (Vanderbilt University)
Mike Wooldridge (University of Liverpool)

Organizing Committee

  • Cédric Dégremont
  • Patricia Everaere
  • Emmanuel Genot
  • Emeline Huart
  • Laurent Keiff

You can contact us via